Reviews

Reviews

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay

Susan S. said...

Jun 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Jun 9, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

We just returned from a very special week at "Miss Etta's." There were 11 of us celebrating our 60th anniversary, from as far away as Germany. I really can't begin to cover just how perfect this home was for us – there was not one thing we needed that we didn't find! A spare lightbulb, a lemon squeezer, every kind of kitchen implement, closets full of linens and supplies, and everything pristine clean. There was a wonderful big living room with comfy chairs for all of us to sit in and visit together (we did lots of that!). And then when someone wanted quiet time we each had our bedroom spot. There was room for several to cook, for all of us to eat together (thanks to the island/bar in the kitchen) and the front porch (with hanging swing) is delightful. We even had the Adirondack chairs plus a few yard chairs (which we had brought along) out under the cedar tree in the side yard. "Miss Etta's" was truly home to all of us for a whole week. We love Cedar Key. I could fill a page telling you all the things we did, and some of it was just serendipitous (ghost tour, kayaking, pontoon boat ride, visiting the museum, walking the boardwalk near the cemetery, cruising around in a rented six-passenger golf cart, hanging out in the quilt shop). It's a charming town full of friendly people and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you Jim Webb. You are the perfect host! The Summerlin family.

Perfection! This is an amazing House that truly felt like "Home"

Sheryl C. said...

Jun 9, 2017

Perfection! This is an amazing house that truly felt like"Home".

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

May 31, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

Our family had the pleasure of celebrating our Mother's 80th Birthday in this awesome home. She was born in Cedar Key in 1937 and she really wanted her birthday gathering to be in Cedar Key. After much research, we found Miss Etta's House to be our perfect match. We were a party of 12 and the accommodations could not have been more perfect. The home has the most amazing layout for entertaining in comfort and true Southern Style. This home has anything and everything you need to enjoy a special getaway. We'll cherish forever the family time we were able to share with our Mother. In fact, we need to schedule for next year as she said, "Maybe we can meet here again on my NEXT birthday!" We highly recommend this lovely home to anyone who wishes to visit Cedar Key. Thank you Mr. Jim, your family and staff for making this a special time that we'll never forget. Till next time! The (Collins) Cooley Family

One of The Best!

 

Jun 1, 2017

One of The Best!

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

May 24, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

We've rented homes quite a few times over the years and Ms. Etta's house is by far one of our top choices! The home is very clean, everything you need is provided for a comfortable, relaxing stay in Cedar Key. The house is quite large and could easily hold a large family or multiple families. The location of the house is perfect, minutes from the grocery store, the restaurants, and a gorgeous sunset every night. We rented a golf cart, which we recommend doing. There is plenty of parking at Ms. Etta's house, the neighborhood is quiet and well kept. We will definitely return to this beautiful, inviting home! If you are looking for a relaxing, recharging vacation, visit Cedar Key. It's "Old Florida" atmosphere is a welcoming place to be and the owner Jim W. is a gracious host.

A Wonderful Place to Stay

Candy said...

Mar 18, 2017

Ms Etta's House is an absolutely wonderful place to stay in Cedar Key.

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Mar 1, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

We have stayed at this home in Cedar Key 3 times and find it extremely comfortable and charming. We love to gather as a family and have mini get togethers in Cedar Key. Would recommend this home for a vacation to everyone looking for a great place to stay

Amazing House and Location

Judy G. said...

Mar 1, 2017

Amazing house and location

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Feb 25, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

We enjoyed our stay at Miss Etta's House. It had everything we could possible need. The kitchen was amazing. There were nine women having a quilting retreat, and there was enough room for everyone to sleep. We were very comfortable. Everyone especially loved the front porch. Plus it was a short walk to the water to watch the sunset. We all want to go back next year.

Very Nice Spacious, Well Kept Home

BRUCE N. said...

Mar 8, 2017

VERY NICE SPACIOUS, WELL KEPT HOME.

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Feb 10, 2017

Helpful votes: 0/0

EXCELLENT PLACE TO GO AND RELAX. EVERYTHING YOU NEED IS THERE. BE SURE TO RENT A GOLF CART....BEST WAY TO GET AROUND.

Perfect in Every Way!

Gail l. said...

Jan 8, 2017

Perfect in every way!

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Dec 28, 2016

Helpful votes: 0/0

My family stayed in Ms. Etta's house as an after Christmas, New Year's Eve and early 80th Birthday celebration for my mom. We had 4 generations for this gathering. What fun and comfort in this spacious, well-appointed home. All of us felt at home and welcome in Cedar Key. The house is equipped with everything you can possibly need. We will not hesitate to book again.

Wonderful Christmas

Vicki A. said...

Dec 26, 2016

Wonderful Christmas

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Dec 22, 2016

Helpful votes: 0/0

We have stayed in rental houses for Christmas for 40 years now and Ms. Etta's was the most well supplied one we have ever rented. Everything we could possible need to prepare our meal for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day was there. The house was clean and so welcoming. The location is perfect in town. The grandchildren loved the "secret hideaway" under the stairs with the supply of toys. I grew up in Cedar Key and always admired this beautiful house, what a treat to stay here. The front porch with swing is awesome!!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Families with Teenagers.

A Perfect Family Weekend

Christy S. said...

Dec 15, 2016

A perfect family weekend

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Dec 6, 2016

Helpful votes: 0/0

This house is absolutely perfect. Jim was most accommodating and checked in with us to make sure that we had everything that we needed for our stay. He leaves a whole notebook as a guide to not only the house, but to the town as well. We were in Cedar Key for our daughters wedding and the house as well as this lovely town exceeded every expectation. Ms. Ettas house felt like home- it is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. The claw foot bathtub was beautiful! We cooked freshly caught fish and clams everyday. We hosted a bridal brunch for our daughter in the house and slept every night in total comfort (my children all want the light down blankets that are under the comforters!) Many nights we sat on the porch and talked for hours and played games and the balcony off the top apartment was incredible for gazing at stars and the water.Jim, we could feel the love as soon as we walked into your families home and so appreciate that it is there for all to enjoy. We cant wait to return to this gem of a town and stay at Ms. Ettas again!!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities, Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.

Escaping Hurrican Mathew

Betsy M. said...

Oct 12, 2016

Escaping Hurricane Mathew

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Oct 5, 2016

Helpful votes: 0/0

I can't say enough about Miss Etta's House and Jim Webb, the manager. As hurricane Mathew was approaching us I got onto VRBO and found this wonderful home that my family and friends escape to to wait out the hurricane. The home is nicely and comfortably furnished with everything you could need and plenty of separate living areas so you don't feel on top of each other. Jim contacted me within 10 minutes so I knew we could start packing. Cedar Key is a quaint and historic little laid back town with several good restaurants and shopping opportunities. Tony's Seafood Restaurant's clam chowder is the best I have ever eaten. We also enjoyed Steamers Clam Bar & Grill, 83 West and had a great shrimp burger at Away From The World, known for their many different beers. Next time we visit we hope to take advantage of the good fishing there.

Recommended for: Families with Teenagers.

A wonderful House for a Family Reunion

Bob L. said...

Mar 1, 2016

A wonderful house for a family reunion

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Feb 17, 2016

Helpful votes: 0/0

Miss Etta's house was perfect for our gathering of five couples with a few kids. The house had everything we needed, was a delightful setting, and is spread out enough and open so that we didn't feel that we were on top of each other. The owner and caretaker were exceptionally attentive and helpful throughout the process. Cedar Key is a quiet and pleasant island. Not a lot to do but relax, bird-watch, and kayak, but that was all OK with us!

The Best House in Cedar Key!

Joyce H. said...

Oct 2, 2015

The Best House in Cedar Key!

809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States

Date of Stay

Sep 25, 2015

Helpful votes: 1/0

Because of the thoughtfulness of our host and his family, I was able to have all my children and their spouses at Cedar Key with me for my birthday and special time for remembrance of my husband. Ms. Etta's is the perfect place to stay - and not just for the accommodations (excellent!), the cleanliness (excellent!), the fully equipped kitchen and laundry (excellent!), and the atmosphere (also excellent!). Beyond those things, and even more special, was that we all felt surrounded by the love and hospitality of Ms. Etta and her family - it was, for us, a serene and magical place. Perfect in every way!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers.

Miss Etta's was PERFECT!

Chris said...
Sep 21, 2015
Miss Etta's was PERFECT!
809 4th Street, Cedar Key, FL, 32625, United States
Date of Stay
Sep 15, 2015
Helpful votes: 0/0
We just came back from Miss Ettas...it was hard to leave! We loved the house...it was so clean! The front porch was a great place for that first cup of coffee in the morning! Six of us stayed for the weekend. We were attending Beth Davis', the owner of The Salty Needle, second annual quilting retreat. Miss Etta'd was perfect. We didn't need our vehicles the entire time. Miss Etta's is close enough to EVERYTHING you can walk anyplace you want to go, even to the quilt shop! It was the perfect place for us six crazy women and we are already looking forward to staying at Miss Etta's next year! Stay at Miss Etta'd, you won't be disappointed, just not during The Salty Needles quilting retreat because we will be there!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Age 55+.
Response